Licensing Committee – Meeting held on Thursday, 1st June, 2023.

Present:- Councillors Shah (Chair), Satti (Vice-Chair), Carter, Instone, Khawar, Mohindra, Naveed, Nazir and Stedmond

Also present under Rule 30:- Councillors E. Ahmed, I. Ahmed, Iftakhar, Muvvala, Rana and Tomar

Apologies for Absence:- Councillor Mohammad

PART 1

1. Declarations of Interest

None declared.

2. Licensing Committee Terms of Reference - To Note

The Committee's terms of reference were outined for Members information.

Resolved – That the Terms of Reference be noted.

3. Minutes of the Last Meeting held on 6th February 2023

Resolved - That the minutes of the meeting held on 6th February 2023 be approved as a correct record.

4. Guidance on Predetermination/ Predisposition - To Note

Members noted the guidance on predetermination and predisposition.

5. Establishment of a Licensing Sub-Committee and Appointment of Designated Chairs

The Principal Democratic Services Officer introduced the report which set out details for the establishment of a licensing Sub-Committee, with terms of reference as set out in Appendix A to the report. Nominations were also sought for the appointment of designated chairs to the Sub-Committee for the 2023/24 municipal year.

Resolved -

- (a) Note the Licensing Sub-Committee's terms of reference attached as Appendix A to the report.
- (b) That a Licensing Sub-Committee be established as required on a proportional basis (2 Conservative, 1 Labour) to determine applications where representations have been made.

Licensing Committee - 01.06.23

- (c) That Councillors Shah, Satti and Khawar be appointed to act as designated Chairs of the Sub-Committee for the 2023/2024 municipal year.
- (d) That in the event of the unavailability of the Labour Member, a Sub-Committee will be convened with three Conservative Members.

(Councillor Carter abstained from voting)

6. Date of Next Meeting - 30th October 2023

The date of the next scheduled meeting was confirmed as 30th October 2023.

Chair

(Note: The Meeting opened at 6.30 pm and closed at 6.43 pm)